Welcome to the Community Site!

You've been redirected here from forum.linode.com. This is your new place to find answers, ask questions, and help others.

Join our Community
X

Pre-sales questions

Hello, I'd like to ask a few questions.

I'm not very technically skilled and would like to apologize beforehand if these questions seem too trivial.

1) If I get more than one VPS in the same datacenter are transfers between the VPS "out of band" ?

2) Since it's possible to choose between three different datacenters I'd like to know if there are notable differences among them besides the geographical location.

For example I read in another post something about different behaviour regarding "filtered ports", I don't know if that was meant as closed ports or some kind of connection throttling.

If possible I'd like to know an IP address for each datacenter so I can test latency.

3) Do "bigger" plans get more IO tokens? Are they directly proportional to the allocated disk space?

4) Is it still possible to ask for migration on a xen box? Is this tied to a particular datacenter?

5) Is it possible to recompile the kernel with UML?

6) Is the RAM you advertise in your plans really available physically?

Sorry if this one sounds quite dumb, I don't even know if RAM overselling is possible with UML.

Thank you!

– jvm

4 Replies

Hello,

Thanks for your interest in Linode.

1) Currently all bandwidth is accounted for, but we're working on support for private back-end networks between Linodes within the same datacenter that will remove this limitation.

2) In my opinion, I think all three data centers are great. Atlanta does block some ports, but the only one we ever get complaints about is IRC (port 6667). Most IRC networks have alternate ports you can connect to (8000 for freenode, 6668 for oftc).

IPs to test latency, and files to download:

http://www.linode.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=2636